top of page

SA Nats head to Canberra


SA Nationals Attendees: Jonathan Pietzsch – State President, Rob Howard – Vice President, Ben Hindmarsh, Bruce Preece, Aaron Pietzsch, Ryan Jellesma, Matthew Gadsden, Loma Silsbury.

The Conference was held over Friday 8th September 2023 to Sunday 10th September 2023 at the Hotel Realm and Parliament House.

On Friday the Federal Management Committee Meeting was held at the Hotel Realm, which Jonathan attended as the Federal Vice President. The Young National Annual General Meeting (AGM) was held in the Nationals Party room at Parliament House, which was attended by Jonathan, Ryan, Matthew and Aaron. Following the Young Nationals AGM the Women’s Federal Council met at the same venue, which Loma attended. The National Welcome Reception was held at The Commonwealth Club, Yarralumla on Friday evening and was well attended and enjoyed by all.

Saturday saw the commencement of Federal Conference, opened at 9:00am in the National Ballroom, Hotel Realm with the singing of Advanced Australia Fair by Mr Steve Amosa. This was followed by the Opening Prayer by Senator Susan McDonald, Minutes, Attendance, Standing Orders and Annual Reports by Federal Secretary, Emma Watts. The Conference was then addressed by the Federal President, Mrs Kay Hull AO, the Federal Director, Mr Lincoln Folo, the Federal Treasurer, Dr Theresa Craig AM, Women’s Federal Council President, Mrs Julie Kirby, The Nationals Federal Leadership Team, Senate Leader, Senator the Hon Bridget McKenzie, Deputy Leader, Senator Perin Davey, Federal Leader, the Hon David Littleproud MP.

Following morning tea, the first of 50 Motions were debated. Of the South Australian single and joint State Motions, seven were put forward, 2 lost, No 6 and No 40, with 5 carried No’s 22, 23, 25, 34 and 47. A full conference agenda can be found here -

After lunch there was the Nationals State Leaders Panel informing us of their State priorities. This was followed by the Young Nationals Report by Mr Angus Webber, Federal President. There was then the presentation of the Young Nations Life Memberships, of which Jonathan was a well-deserved recipient. Congratulations Jonathan.

Motions were stalled at the completion of Saturday.

On Saturday evening the Federal President’s Dinner was held in the National Ballroom, Realm Hotel, which was sponsored by Manildra Group. A quick turnaround for staff from conference room to wonderful dining room. Wow, what a great meal along with the fabulous entertainment.

Sunday morning saw the Conference reconvene. Jonathan took the chair from the President and proceeded through the remaining Motions, which were almost half of the 50 remaining.

At an interval in the motion proceedings, the Hon David Littleproud introduced Senator Jacinta Nampijinpa Price to address the Conference. What a wonderful 15 minutes to hear a very intelligent person eloquently address the Federal National Party on what is important to her and fellow Australians for our future. Senator Price was given the opportunity to a period of Q&A, very capably responding to questions as expected from this wonderful Leader in the National Party.

Motions continued and were concluded in time to conduct the Federal Council.

Federal Council was called for the Election of Office Bearers.

Subject to nominations:

  • Federal President – Kay Hull re- elected.

  • Federal Vice President – Jonathan Pietzsch re-elected.

  • Federal Secretary – Emma Watts stood down. Juliana McArther elected unopposed.

  • Federal Treasurer – re-elected Dr Theresa Craig AM

  • Chair, Policy Standing Committee – Alessia Maruca stood down. Andrew Cripps elected unopposed.

The appointment of Trustees and Auditors followed.

The Federal Council was successful closed at 12:00noon.


bottom of page